Testing iPhone’s based GPS Lap Timer@Sentul…

Just got my self an iPhone 3G. It just being launched in Indonesia and to my surprise when browsing the iPhone App Store I found a Lap Timer application. The iPhone does have build in GPS thus there are many navigation application available for the iPhone. But none is for specific track junkies like me except the Harry’s GPS Laptimer v5.4! Above pics shows the application name and on the right is Sentul Track layout. Bare in mind I do not draw the track layout, the application automatically draw the track layout when I rode with the GPS attached to the bike.

This Saturday I manage to test the application at Sentul track, and as I do not have special hardware to mount the iPhone to the bike I do bit worried that the iPhone may get damaged and God forbid if I crash my iPhone will certainly ruin! But I want to test the app first, and if it going well I will have custom mount and protector to mount and secure the iPhone on the bike. For now let just test the application first and if it provide useful information.

Above is the pic of the application when about to start. Obviously you need to key info like the track name and your vehicle, which in this case Sentul and my trusty CBR600RR. I have also put in reference “POI” which if I not mistaken is the “Point of Interest” at which will be the point of reference for the GPS to determines my position, and thus find out my speed, direction and so forth.

After several laps the above is the report from the application. My best lap time is 1:49.48 with average speed of 130.3 km/h and max speed of 218.4 km/h. The rest of the laps I only managed to do above 1:50, perhaps having a brand new iPhone on board “unsecured” properly on the bike make me bit nervous.. πŸ™‚ For sure I do not want to brake my new iPhone!

If you recall on top that the application was actually drawing the track layout and the interesting part is that you can zoom in and find out your speed at several part of the track! My max speed of 218 km/h was achieved at the home straight just before R1. At R1 I brake hard and turn in with the speed of 109 km/h as the pic above.

Now a lot can be gathered from the pic above, my next fastest speed was 196 km/h just before R3 and my lowest speed, obviously, at S Kecil was “only” about 57 km/h. I like this kind of information for sure!! Just on top of my head I was reducing my speed on R2 which I shouldn’t, and I actually faster on R4 then in R3!!

More information like the G-Force also available. Above pics show the G Force and the Speed, as you can see from the above pic I brake the hardest (highest G Force) when about to enter S Kecil, where the G Force is more than 1G.

So far I like what I see in this application, but there are some issues with the application as well. Like not all lap was properly recorded and when I switch the iPhone to my friend bike it did not properly recorded the result. Perhaps the GPS reception or the mounting of the iPhone distract it from receiving good GPS Signal.

Next I think I will use this application during my track time, but I need to get my self a “good” mounting hardware for the iPhone. Also need to find a good protector for the iPhone as well.

END

16 thoughts on “Testing iPhone’s based GPS Lap Timer@Sentul…

  1. Wuih… very nice apps.
    Ok, I’m sold. I’m definitely interested in the application.

    There’s only 1 setback. I havent found anyone who’s willing to give me their ipod 3G… heheheh

  2. got it

    FYI : RaceChrono version 1.10 for S60 3rd edition.
    Supported phones: Nokia E50, E51, E60, E61, E61i, E62, E63, E65, E66, E70, E71, E90, N71, N73, N75, N76, N77, N78, N79, N80, N81, N81-8GB, N82, N85, N91, N92, N93, N93i, N95, N95-8GB, N96, 3250, 5320 XpressMusic, 5500 Sport, 5700 XPressMusic, 6110 Navigator, 6120 Classic, 6121, 6124 Classic, 6210 Navigator, 6220 Classic, 6290, 6650, Samsung SGH-i400, SGH-i450, SGH-i520, SGH-i550, SGH-i560, SGH-G810, SGH-L870, INNOV8, I7110, LG KS10, KT610.

    http://www.racechrono.com/download/

    1. Hi R1+sg,

      I do not have special hw to mount the iphone to my bike, so I just duct tape the iPhone to the tank. I have no plan to use the iPhone as my permanent lap timer, I used standard IR based Starlane lap timer for that. The iPhone lap timer has some pretty nice features though like G force sensor etc, yet with no good mounting device for sport bike I bit worried to use them πŸ™‚

      Hope that help..

  3. i download the lap timer after reading your Blog.do you have to calibrate it before using? Also with the POI i take it that you have to enter a point on the track for it to work?
    Didnt really have any luck working it out? is there a good reference manual for the app?

    1. Hi byron,

      Apology for the late reply, haven’t used the lap time application for some times now.

      Yes, you need to enter POI to let the device know your START/GO point. But before that I think you need to specify the “Event” which is the track. POI and track or “Event” will then be used to calculate the lap time and other info.

      I also did not find good reference manual other then what available on the Internet, but i did try to contact Harry and he did respond promptly.

      Hope the above helps..

      Cheers.

  4. Hi Pak Bona,nice write up. Your blog inspired me to take action and bought Harry’s lap timer for Palm OS. It’s quite similar to the IPhone version you have, and I used to be a palm user before migrating to Indosat Blackberry. All I needed besides the software was an external GPS Receiver, which I bought yesterday. It took sometime to leard, since the software did not come with manual. Could you help how to set intermediate points? All I see in the ‘add trigger’ is 1.stop/go, 2.go, 3.stop, 4.unspecified. It’s fine for the start/finish line. But the intermediate trigger did not seem to work. Thanks Sir. Regards, Ardi’
    NN

    Nice write up.

    1. Hi there Pak Ardi,

      Glad that you like my writing πŸ™‚

      Regarding the lap timer, to be honest with you I seldom use the iPhone lap timer anymore. Mostly because that I couldn’t find a proper mounting that hold the iPhone on my track bike. Being a track bike that prone to crash for sure I do not want to ruin my iPhone.

      Yet, the Lap Timer does have a very nice features such as intermediate points and G force level for the iPhone. I have yet to use the itermediate points reference but my understanding is that intermediate points is just another POI for the software, like Start and Finish line.

      Sorry cannot help you this time, but If I ever tried that feature I’ll write it up on this blog.

      Cheers!

      PS: You do a lot of track day in Sentul?

  5. Hello, is iphone 3GS have lap timer either?? But have any apps for iphone 3GS, like have a 0-60, 0-100, 0-1/8, 0-1/4, 0-1/2, 0-1 mile, 0-10, 0-20, 0-30 all way to 0-200, 0-210, 0-220 mph is it have anything like that apps in iphone 3GS?????? Please email me corvettec5zo6@yahoo.com thanks u sooo much!

Leave a comment