[Photography] Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM – Image Stabilizer


Just got my self the Canon EF 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS II USM.. wooohooo..๐Ÿ™‚ The 70-200 family is the most popular range for Canon legendary “L” lens. The lens cover 70-200 mm (115-320 mm for crop camera like my 7D) a very useful zoom range for many photographers in any field. I used to own the non IS version of 70-200 before so I know that this lens is very versatile indeed.

One of the feature that I really look forward with this new lens is the IS or the Image Stabilizer, my last 70-200 did not have one and the new Mark II get the best Canon’s IS boasting a 4 stop shutter speed while shooting hand held. This I must to try!

I am neither a professional photographer nor technical reviewer and if you want a comprehensive review of this lens you can go to dpreview, or the-digital-picture.com where they review and tested the lens thoroughly.

Shooting with long lens, zoom or tele, the lens blur can be a problem. To avoid lens blur we need to use faster shutter speed. The general rule is that the shutter speed must be faster then 1/lens length. So if you shoot at 200mm, the shutter speed must be 1/200 or faster to get a sharp picture. But getting shutter of 1/200 or faster is difficult if you shoot indoor and want to keep the ISO setting low. This is where the IS get in to action. Turn it ON and the shutter speed can be as low as 1/15!

Check above picture of Capirex Desmosedici model, pretty sharp. I shoot it hand held at 200mm with shutter speed of 1/30! Compare that with the picture bellow with the IS turn OFF.

Above picture taken with the same shutter speed hand held and resulting a blur image. I shot the above while hand holding the 70-200, I must say it was tough to keep the hand steady with lens this heavy. Holding my breath while pressing the shutter button the result is till not satisfactory. Bellow a full crop of both image as comparison:

The IS is definitely work and I amaze with the result. I plan to get more pictures this week end for panning shoot using the IS Mode 2, will post some bike pics soon!

TO BE CONTINUED

8 thoughts on “[Photography] Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM – Image Stabilizer

  1. Good gun and good man behind the gun!

    Take it to Sentul and panning bro!๐Ÿ™‚
    I have big expectation for the result!๐Ÿ™‚

    But have you owned a 70 – 200 already?

    1. Yup, can’t wait to test the lens at Sentul.. Heheh

      I used to owned the non IS years ago, and when I bought 7D I borrowed my brother’s 70-200 IS for several weeks. It was his 70-200 that I’ve been using. Now I got my own.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow! One of my dream lens! Can I try it out sometime? A couple of friend have the non-IS version & the f/4 IS, but you’re the first f/2.8 IS *drool*

    Btw, you said you borrowed your brother’s, any chance being pak Eka? He came to our plant in Lampung a couple of days ago. Maybe I can borrow his the next time he comes visit :p

    1. Can be arranged bro…๐Ÿ™‚

      Yup, abang (pak) Eka is my eldest brother, he taught me one or two about photography๐Ÿ™‚ His lens collection is quite something, all “L” lenses from fast prime to long tele.

      Just let me know if you want us go hunting together Ko..๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I’d really like for us to go hunting together, but I dont know if I should. My kit 17-85 lens will look way out of league sitting next to your white lens :p

Leave a Reply

